It’s easier to dream

I had this idea to write a new blog (because, you know, all the cool kids are getting into blogging…in 2017) and I have a very specific idea for the content and a pretty clear idea who my intended audience is and a general idea of what I want it to look like.   I finally discovered a name for it, bought a domain name, nearly had a breakdown when I realized I misspelled the name of the blog when I bought the domain, bought the correct domain, and have begun mapping content, playing with photo editors, planning what I could write about…pretty much everything other than actually writing.  Because it turns out writing is hard.  Especially when you really care about your topic and your audience.  It turns out that it’s easier to dream than to do.

dream (see…photo editing.  I even figured out how to add the website at the bottom.  score)

I’m going to keep this blog as a place to write about things that relate to me being a woman, a wife, a mom, a theologian…but I’m starting another blog to focus exclusively on theology, specifically creating a safe space for women to explore our Wesleyan theological heritage.

You might scoff and/or ask, “Do women really need their own blog about theology?” and, after much scoffing and asking myself this same question I have a very clear and firm answer: no but yes.

No, truth is truth regardless of your gender. And, really the content (at least 90% of it) won’t be gender specific at all (the fonts and photos might be a bit feminine at times).

But yes, because a lot of women have less opportunity to explore theology with academically credible moderators than men.  They also seem more likely to be intimidated by the topic than men. And I know they want to learn.  They want to hear, to ask, to doubt, to create, to explore, to know truth and live truth and communicate truth. I want to help them.

In a perfect world men and women would sit at the same table, learn theology from and with both genders, but it’s not a perfect world and while I want to move toward a perfect world I also want to work with the reality of what exists and I want to serve the church well.  I’m uniquely positioned to credibly contribute to the theological education and transformation of women (because of my gender, my experience, and the letters behind my name) so I’m going for it.

And I invite you to come a long with me.  Because theology matters.  What we know in our heads and believe in our hearts about who God is, who we are, and how those two things relate makes all the difference in the world.  Out of the overflow of our hearts (the core of what we know and feel to be true) we speak and we act.  So let’s start inside.  Let’s bring to light and evaluate what we think and what we believe about God, ourselves, and the world in light of Scripture.

The journey will begin at http://www.windandmilk.com.   Wait, no, that’s not right, http://www.wineandmilk.com (or http://www.wineandmilk.com/blog)

I plan to post on Mondays…and the first post is up (the second will be up in two days)!

 

4 thoughts on “It’s easier to dream

  1. Mike Lutes January 7, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    I kind of liked the randomness of “wind and milk”. But I’ll still read it.

    • jmellison January 10, 2017 / 2:07 am

      After I got done freaking out I enjoyed the randomness as well…I don’t even know how to pull it back online after I started trying to “fix” my mistake by deleting and canceling, and generally not “fixing” things 🙂

  2. Jennifer VanHekken January 8, 2017 / 2:06 am

    I love this, Jen!

    • jmellison January 10, 2017 / 2:05 am

      Thanks! I’m enjoying your posts as well.

Leave a Reply

