Renew

I have tried to have a word for the year (My One Word) because other people did it and I thought it was cool. I have tried to come up with a word and then try to make that word meaningful for the whole year.  It never worked.  My word was abandoned as quickly as my New Year’s Resolutions.

Because of my history of trying and failing I had a bit of anxiety when I found out that my Pastor was talking about this idea at church on January 1st.  But God, in his grace, had a word find me before I could try to come up with a word on my own.  Until the word found me, I didn’t know how badly I needed it.

renew

I am scuffed up and worn out. I need renewal.  I believe God wants to dig deep and renew me in 2017.

I think it primarily comes from the idea of being transformed by the renewing of my mind (Romans 12:2) which will involved destroying lofty arguments and opinions raised against the knowledge of God (2 Corinthians 10:5).  I need to get back to my roots and my love of soaking in and studying the Bible…for fun…not for school or for someone else and let it transform me by the renewing of my mind.

I think there will also be elements of God renewing a right spirit in my (Psalms 51:10) along with renewal in my relationship with him and renewal in other relationships in my life.

I don’t know what my next step is.  There are a ton of ways I could attempt to facilitate renewal.  But I believe God gave me the word (renew) so I’m trusting he’ll lead me to the path of renewal he wants me to take.  I don’t have to strive to figure it all out today (especially because it’s the striving that has me so scuffed up and weary).  In fact, I shouldn’t strive at all, I should ask him and then pay attention. This is not about me creating renewal for myself but about God recreating me.

Have you ever chosen a word for the year? How has it impacted your life?

 

Leave a Reply

