Watering & Waiting

ImageSeveral years ago I had a little garden that consisted of five little pots on my porch step.

I planted the seeds with excitement and waited. 
And watered. 
And waited. 
And watered.  
And waited.

Finally, after a couple weeks, small green shoots poked their heads out of the soil.   Then they got taller and leaves appeared so I watered. 
And waited. 
And watered. 
And waited.

When I planted the garden, I thought it would take a few weeks until my plants had grown, filled out the pots and bloomed but it took a few months.  It did not happen as quickly as I hoped and, from day to day I saw little progress.
But I watered. 
And waited. 
And watered.  
And waited.

After several weeks, the shoots grew buds and, finally, they bloomed.  I did the right things (watering and waiting) even when I didn’t see a lot of progress. It took awhile but, eventually, my dirt pots became mini little gardens.  And my mini little gardens made me smile every time I would walk up the stairs to my front door.

I took pictures of the process because it symbolized the process of walking through so many difficult things in life.  Much like planting and waiting, there are many times when I’ve set a goal thinking it wouldn’t take long to get there and, in the midst of working toward the goal I felt like it was taking forever and I would never get to the end.

I’m in the midst of what seems like a never-ending journey toward finishing a graduate degree right now.  I’m writing a six-chapter paper and I’ve been working on the first two chapters for over a year.  Every time I sit down and research or write or edit and make some progress, I’m reminded of how much more progress needs to be made and it can be overwhelming.  Often, I want to quit.  It’s in these moments that I began to believe that people with graduate degrees (or, really, degrees or accomplishments of any kind) are not necessarily smarter (or better or stronger) than people who don’t, they just have just kept moving forward when others haven’t.  They just kept being faithful to the task, to the watering and the waiting, even when they didn’t see the progress.

So here’s to a new day.  Another word on the page.  Another series of edits.  Today I will choose to remember that if I keep doing the right things the plants will eventually, bloom and my thesis will eventually get done, even if it takes longer than I think it should.

Leave a Reply

